Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)

The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), founded in 1908 as the Bureau of Investigation, is the principle operative branch of the Department of Justice in the United States. The FBI covers a vast legal portfolio and in fact represents the largest judicial police body in the US. Its leaders are closely linked to the powers that be in Washington. The Director of the FBI, infact, is treated in a presidential manner, enjoying a very long ten-year term, in which he is in charge of the Intelligence Department and through this the White House. John Edgar Hoover was a historic figure, who was the Director of the FBI during six presidential administrations from 1935 until his death in 1972. The current director of the FBI is Christopher Wray, a Republican and former partner in the law firm King & Spalding, having served as director since 2017.